Instagram_round1   Facebook_Round1   Twitter_round1



2010 USTA South Carolina award winners announced

The annual awards given by USTA South Carolina are intended to recognize individuals, clubs and other organizations who made outstanding contributions to tennis.  There are numerous awards for adults, juniors, organizations and companies.  Award winners are chosen based on their accomplishments during the year preceding the September award nomination deadline.  Award winners are recognized during the USTA SC Annual Meeting, which is held on the second weekend of December.
2010 Winners:
Award Name 2010 Winners Residence
John Newcombe Tennis Pro of the Year Carl Hocker, Jr. Spartanburg
Community Service Award Meg Farrelly Isle of Palms
Adult Female Player of the Year Shirley Taylor Garden City
Adult Male Player of the Year Jim Hinson Columbia
Adult/Senior Tournament of the Year LATA Sunburn Open Lexington
Coach of the Year Becky Williamson Mount Pleasant
Company of the Year Budweiser of Columbia Columbia
CTA of the Year Mid-Carolina Tennis Association Rock Hill
Junior Girl Player of the Year Shelby Rogers Charleston
Junior Boy Player of the Year Wood Benton Spartanburg
Mark Hodgin Junior Girl Sportsmanship Award Ashley Kitchen Hilton Head Island
Mark Hodgin Junior Boy Sportsmanship Award Sven Keven Ivankovic Clemson
Junior Team Tennis Coordinator of the Year Barbara L. Jones St. George
Junior Tournament of the Year Carolina's Junior Open at Wofford Spartanburg
League Volunteer of the Year Johnette and Nelson Smith Spartanburg
Media Award Michael Saia Charleston
Member Facility of the Year Palmetto Tennis Center Sumter
Kimberly Hampton Most Improved Girl  Laura E. Dean Georgetown
Most Improved Boy  Thomas Spratt Charleston
Pete Conklin Official of the Year Terry Kinard Hilton Head Island
Adaptive Tennis Volunteer of the Year Martha Cartin Columbia
Tennis Family of the Year The Johnston/Woorons Family Anderson
Wilton McKinney Award Joel Cook Easley