Instagram_round1   Facebook_Round1   Twitter_round1



Click here for the USTA South Carolina Volunteer Directory

Committee Charges

Committees are listed in alphabetical order.

Adaptive and Special Olympics Tenniss

   Diane Barker, Co-Chair Kevin McFarland
  Jack Barker, Co-Chair Skeeter Powell
  Cindy Burris SueEllen Swanson
  Kelly Garrick Carey Washington     
  Julie Jilly Carol Alan
  Rex Maynard  

Adult Competition
Responsible for all sanctioned adult tournaments.

  Kevin Jackson, Chair Tom Ruth
  William Brannon SueEllen Swanson
  Roy Gum Cindy Vander Berg
  Lyn Hibino Cynthia Walters
  Gary Link Susan Wild
  Carlos Lozano Jackie Reynecke

Solicits nominations and chooses annual award recipients.

  Ron Charron, Chair Rex Maynard
  Jack Barker Larry Rizzo
  Meg Farrelly Franny Russell
  Sam Hicks Chuck Waldron   

Budget and Audit
Develops a proposed budget for the upcoming year and submits it to the Board for approval. During the year, the committee monitors the organization’s financial operations and recommends any necessary budget revisions to the board for approval. Annually, this committee is a liaison to the CPA auditing USTA SC.

  James McKissick, Chair Roy Lindburg
  David Honeycutt Chris Pricenor
  Ernie James Rose Santiago-Toca
  Mike Jones  

By-Laws and Policies 
Responsible for maintaining, updating and revising the Association By-Laws as needed, and obtaining appropriate approval. The Committee also is responsible for maintaining and organizing the Association’s policies and procedures and suggesting new or revised policies and procedures where needed.

  Gayl Hoel, Chair       David Honeycutt
  Carol Alan Ernie James
  Irma Brooks      James McKissick
  Ron Charron  

Diversity and Inclusion 
Make diversity considerations as an embedded part of USTA South Carolina.

  Ernie James, Chair Charlotte Forrest
  Fanni Simmons, Vice Chair Barbara Jones
  Jorge Andrew Paul Pittman
  Irma Brooks Franny Russell
  Brenda Eschandy Marc Stingley
  William Eschandy Cynthia Walters             

Event Planning
Responsible for planning and managing the USTA South Carolina's annual meeting and other major events.

  Franny Russell, Chair Susan Wild
  Lyn Hibino Bob Peiffer             

Responsible for investigating and adjudicating any written grievance brought against a USTA organizational or individual member concerning any alleged violation of a USTA, USTA Southern or USTA South Carolina bylaw, policy or regulation, The Code, or the Rules of Tennis. Exceptions to this are grievances arising out of adult league and Junior Team Tennis programs.

  Craig Wells, Chair Nan Smith
  William Brannon   Carey Washington
  Bob Keivit                   Richard Weathers 

Investment Management
Reviews the recommendations of an investment consultant and monitors the performance of the investments of a portion of the association's reserves.

  David Honeycutt James McKissick
  Walter Fournet Paul Pittman
  Mike Jones                

Junior Competition
Responsible for all tournament-related activity for junior players in S.C.

  Jonathan Barth, Chair Gary Link
  Toby Simpson, Vice Chair Nancy Powell
  Ashlyn Cousins Anne Reynolds
  Theresa Hendrix Tom Ruth
  Kelly Hesketh Ken Schneider
  Bob Keivit Linda Spratt
    Steve Zalinski            

Junior Team Tennis

  April Gift, Chair Mehdi El-Kheddiwi
  Kevin Jackson, Vice Chair Nancy Powell  
  Irma Brooks Fanni Simmons
  David Bromberg Cynthia Walters
  Ashlyn Cousins Barbara Jones           

League Committee

  Mary Goins, Chair Jackie Reynecke
  Bonnie Sue Duncan Shawn Risher
  Sandra Grooms Ed Sprenger
  Joyce Harrison Susan Turner
  Sam Hicks Dee Vaughan
  Susie Honeycutt Jerry Wayne
  Mike Martin Steve Wilson
  Patti McVey Nan Smith
  Kim Ozmon  

Prepares a slate of nominees for all positions subject to election at any annual business meeting.

  Cam Littlejohn, Chair Paul Pittman
  Ron Charron Dan Santorum   
  Ernie James Mary Anna Scott
  Bob Peiffer  


  Al Marshall, Chair Stan Seabrook
  Bob Keivit Craig Wells
  Connie Moynihan    


  Paul Pittman, Chair  
  Gayl Hoel  
  Ernie James  

Player Development
sponsible for all activities relating to the development and improvement of junior players in South Carolina.

  Carlos Lozano  Brian Parkkonen
  Theresa Hendrix Toby Simpson
  Lyn Hibino Ken Schneider
  Kevin Jackson Linda Spratt
  Erick Martinez Chuck Waldron
  Bryan Minton             Roy Lindburg

Senior Cup
rganizes the men’s and women’s teams that represent South Carolina in the Southern Section Senior Cup Tournament. Captains of the two teams are members of the committee.

  Tom Foster, Chair Charly Rasheed
  Cindy Babb Ben Varn
  Brenda Carter Susan Turner
  Jim Hinson                  

Strategic Planning and Evaluation
Committee prepares a plan to be updated annually. The committee also provides a procedure for measuring progress against the Plan and prepares an annual progress report.

  Nan Smith,  Chair Susan Turner
  Carol Alan Gayl Hoel
  James McKissick  

Tennis Coaches
Responsible for communication between USTA SC and the coaches and teaching professionals in South Carolina, informing them of USTA programs and objectives, encouraging certification and continued learning and training, as well as providing a voice for coaches and tennis pros to USTA SC.

  Kevin Jackson, Chair Mark Schminke
  Brian Parkkonen, Vice Chair Toby Simpson
  Jorge Andrew Lauren Stewart
  Joey Eskridge Chuck Waldron
  Weslynn Hutto Susan Wild
  Nancy Powell Rebecca Williamson
  Tom Ruth Barbara Jones           

Wheelchair Tennis
Promotes the growth of wheelchair tennis in the state by organizing events, providing equipment, and coaching and finding players.

  Walter Fournet, Chair Skeeter Powell
  Julie Jilly David Rogers
  Bob Masella Taylor Wingate