Instagram_round1   Facebook_Round1   Twitter_round1



South Carolina Tennis Patrons Foundation


Tennis has a proud history in South Carolina, and much of this history can be found in the South Carolina Tennis Hall of Fame.

hallEstablishing a state hall of fame was the idea and goal of Jim Russell, South Carolina Tennis Association President in 1983 & 1984.  Russell established the South Carolina Tennis Patrons Foundation, which was originally organized to support the Hall of Fame, and named Rex Maynard the first chairman.  Space was available in two old waiting rooms on the south end of the renovated depot in Belton, long considered the "Tennis Capital of South Carolina."  Russell and Maynard raised the funds to refurbish this area, and the Hall of Fame officially opened with a dedication ceremony on June 6, 1984.  The Belton Depot and the Hall of Fame were completely remodeled in 2006, and it is now considered one of the best sports museums in the southeast.

The focal points in the Hall of Fame are the portraits of the inductees.  These portraits have been painted by Wayland Moore, a Belton native and one of the country's best known sports artists, who now lives in Atlanta.  The portraits are done in an impressionistic style with vivid colors.  Each inductee also presents a memento from their tennis career which remains on display in the Hall of Fame.  Other old trophies, racquets, pictures and books are also on display, including an umpire's chair used in Wimbledon.  The Hall of Fame may be entered through the Ruth Drake (Belton) Museum, and is open Wednesday/Thursday 9am to 2pm, Friday 9am to 4pm and Saturday 9am to 1pm.

New inductees are selected each year by a Hall of Fame Selection Committee. They are officially inducted during the Hall of Fame Banquet held each Fall during the USTA South Carolina Annual Meeting.  Their portraits are unveiled at the Hall of Fame Banquet and then placed in the Hall of Fame in Belton.

Operating funds for the Patrons Foundation are received through contributions, fund raising projects and USTA South Carolina.  The SCTPF now supports much more than just the Hall of Fame, offering grants to junior tennis players, kids at risk programs, high school tennis and public facilities.  Four $2,000 college scholarships are also awarded each year to graduating seniors.  One of the scholarships is named in memory of Randall G. Heffron, D.M.D., and is funded by the Coastal Community Foundation.  A second scholarship is named in honor of Lucy Garvin. Tax deductible contributions are welcome. The third scholarship has been named in memory of past USTA SC and USTA Southern President Jim Russell. The Foster Family Scholarship is funded by Amy Foster Martin in memory of her parents, Sonny and Jerry Foster, and her brother Larry Foster. SCTPF is a 501 (c)(3) registered non-profit.

Checks should be made out to SCTPF and mailed to PO Box 843 Belton, SC 29627.




Museum Contacts
SC Tennis Hall of Fame and Ruth Drake Museum

Abigail Burden, Museum Curator/Depot Director
Phone:  864-338-7400
Fax:  864-338-8855
50 North Main Street
Belton, SC 29627

Rex Maynard, Historian
Phone:  864-338-7751 
Belton, SC 29627

Operation hours of the museums are: Wednesday/Thursday 9am to 2pm, Friday 9am to 4pm and 
Saturday 9am to 1pm


South Carolina Tennis Patrons Foundation Board and Trustees


Ernie James, Chairman
James McKissick, Vice-Chairman
Rex Maynard, Treasurer
Rogers Coxe, Secretary
Bob Peiffer, Past Chair 

Carol Alan
Bobby Austell
Tracy Hardaway
Gayl Hoel
Kevin Light
Nan Smith
Lori Ann Summers
Ex-Officio Members
Roy Barth
Ron Charron
David Honeycutt
Lucy Garvin
Al Marshall
Paul Pittman
Donna Rasheed
Larry Rizzo
Jerry Smith
Bud Spencer

South Carolina Tennis Patrons Foundation Committee Chairs

Executive Committee Chair
Robert Peiffer

Nominating Committee Chair
Robert Peiffer

Hall of Fame Selection Committee Chair
Rex Maynard

Revenue & Endowment Committee Chair
James McKissick

Youth Program Grants Committee Chair
Bobby Austell

Player Grants Committee Chair
Walter Fournet

College Scholarships Committee Chair
Bob Peiffer