Instagram_round1   Facebook_Round1   Twitter_round1



2008 USTA South Carolina Award Winners

September 18, 2008 02:41 PM

Click here to nominate a candidate for a 2009 award.
Click here for a printable copy of the award form.

These individuals have all made outstanding contributions to tennis in the Palmetto State throughout 2008.  Without their dedication to tennis we would not have the thriving community that we do.  All award winners will be honored during the USTA SC Annual Meeting on December 13, 2008 at the Marina Inn at Grande Dunes and will be featured in the 2009 USTA SC Yearbook. 

Adult Female Player of the Year
Sophie Woorons-Johnston, Anderson

Adult Male Player of the Year
Andy Lake, Six Mile

Adult Tournament of the Year
Marion Harris American Cancer Sr. Classic, Greenville

Coach of the Year
James Brown, Pawleys Island 

Community Service Award
Florence Tennis Association, Florence

Company of the Year
Outback Steakhouse of Sumter

CTA of the Year
Low Country Tennis Association

Junior Boy Player of the Year
John H. Richmond, Pawleys Island

Junior Girl Player of the Year
Mallory Cecil, Spartanburg

Junior Tournament of the Year
Wachovia Palmetto Championships, Belton

Junior Team Tennis Coordinator of the Year
Robert (Bob) Brown, Bluffton

John Newcomb Pro of the Year
Joey Eskridge, Mt. Pleasant

Most Improved Junior Boy
Joel Cook, Easley

Kimberly Hampton Most Improved Junior Girl
Alex Martin, Mt. Pleasant

League Volunteer of the Year
Jimmy Sain, Piedmont

Mark Hodgin Junior Sportsmanship Award (Boy)
Wilson Daniel, Charleston

Mark Hodgin Junior Sportsmanship Award (Girl)
Jessica Diamond, Mt. Pleasant

Media Award
Susan Wild, Sumter

Member Club of the Year
Brookstone Meadows, Anderson

Pete Conklin Official of the Year
Sandra Morrissette, Hilton Head

Special Olympics Volunteer of the Year
Myron Meister, Hilton Head Island

Tennis Family of the Year
Gildemeister Family, Myrtle Beach

Wilton McKinney Award
Wesley Moran, Murrels Inlet

Past Award Winners