Instagram_round1   Facebook_Round1   Twitter_round1



Anderson University Captures Sixth Straight Conference Championship

April 21, 2009 03:30 PM

The Anderson University Trojans men’s tennis team captured their sixth straight Conference Carolinas Championship by defeating Lees-McRae College 5-1.
Renato Assuncao

As the tournament’s No. 2 seed, the Trojans routed the top seeded Lees-McRae, a team that had beaten Anderson 5-4 in the regular season. Phillip Pakebusch took home tournament MVP honors and teammates Stephane Murray and Renato Assuncao were also named to the all-tournament team.

Anderson University is now 13-6 on the season and earned a berth in NCAA Division II national tournament by winning the conference championship. First year head coach Joey Eskridge continued the conference domination established by former coach Rodrigo Da Silva. The six straight conference championships is a record for Conference Carolinas.