Instagram_round1   Facebook_Round1   Twitter_round1



SC Tennis Hall of Fame Nomination Deadline

May 18, 2010 04:07 PM

The SC Tennis Hall of Fame deadline for nominations is June 1.  Don't miss your chance to honor an individual who has made an impact on the tennis community in South Carolina.   

The South Carolina Tennis Hall of Fame, located in the newly renovated (2007) and air-conditioned historic Belton Depot on Main Street in Belton, is one of the finest sports museums in the country.  Opened in 1984, the Hall of Fame honors the state's top players (both professional and amateur) and tennis officials.  Trophies, racquets and other tennis memorabilia from the past are on display.  The Hall of Fame is operated by South Carolina Tennis Patrons Foundation.  Through 2008 the Hall of Fame has 47 inductees, including 5 inductees from Belton...Janie Haynie Hentz,  Fluffy Rice, Jim Russell, Rex Maynard and Max Grubbs.  New inductees are elected each June by the Board of the Patrons Foundation and are inducted during the Hall of Fame Banquet held in December.

The focal point of the Hall is the inductees' portrait gallery.  Every portrait was painted by Wayland Moore, a Belton native.  Each new portrait is unveiled and placed in the Hall during special ceremonies at The Palmetto Fling, held the week of the Wachovia Palmetto Championships each June.  Old Racquets, books, trophies, pictures and many other tennis artifacts are on display.  These include a memento from each of the inductees tennis career.

Nomination form options:

  • Online Submission: If you would like to submit your award nomination through an online forum, click here.
  • Mail: If you would like to print out a copy of the award form, fill it out, and mail it back, click here.

Class of 2009:
Brenda Carter, Charleston
Joe Roberts, Greenville

Past Inductees
1983 Wilton McKinney, Greenville
1983 Chuck Kriese, Clemson
1984 Sam Daniel, Columbia*
1984 Janie Haynie Hentz, Belton
1984 Bill Cain, Darlington*
1985 Lillian Seabrook, Charleston*
1985 Stan Smith, Hilton Head Isl.
1986 Paul Scarpa, Greenville
1986 Marion Harris, Easley*
1986 William P. Jacobs, Clinton*
1987 Dennis Van der Meer, Hilton Head Isl.
1987 Don Dixon, Lancaster*
1988 Heyward Belser, Columbia*
1989 Nancy Yeargin Furman, Greenville
1989 Don Bunch, Charleston*
1990 Jack Mills, Columbia
1991 Jim Russell, Belton
1991 Sara Rushton Walters, Columbia
1992 Betsy McColl, Columbia
1992 Grover “Raz” Reid, Greenville
1993 Peyre Kennedy, Spartanburg*
1994 Chris Covington, Bennetsville*
1994 Joe Cabri, Greenwood
1995 Blair “Fluffy” Rice, Belton*
1996 Kent DeMars, Columbia

1997 Roy Barth, Kiawah Isl.
1997 Al Fullerton, Columbia*
1998 Lucy Garvin, Greenville
1999 Diane Fishburne, Walterboro
2000 Bernie McGuire, Columbia
2001 Keith Richardson, Rock Hill
2001 Rex Maynard, Belton
2002 Jerry Smith, Columbia
2002 Jack and Pat Adams, Charleston*
2003 Arlo Elkins, Lexington
2003 Bret Garnett, Columbia
2003 Wilmer Hines, Columbia*
2004 Althea Gibson, Silver*
2004 Ann Sweeny, Columbia
2004 Debbie Southern, Greenville
2005 Ben Varn, Inman
2005 Bill Jolly, Denmark
2006 Dan Santorum, Hilton Head Isl.
2007 Larry Rizzo, Florence
2007 Helen Jeter, Greer
2008 Will Bull, Myrtle Beach
2008 Max Grubbs, Anderson*

* Member is deceased