Instagram_round1   Facebook_Round1   Twitter_round1



Mark Hodgin Junior Sportmanship Award

Junior players who demonstrate behavior that is considered courteous and exemplary both on and off the court. (Opinions of tournament directors and referees are important for this award.)

Gracie Waldron

Gracie Waldron knows how to succeed on the court and how to honor the game. Waldron, of Mountville, is ranked inside the top 50 in the state for the girls 18 and under singles division.  But just as important as her tennis skills, Gracie has been taught the virtue of sportsmanship from an early age by her parents, Chuck and Mary, and she goes out of her way to treat her opponents with fairness and respect. Gracie joins her sister, Virginia, as the second member of the family to bring home this award. 

Sam Kavarana

Sam Kavarana’s model behavior has helped him earn the respect and acknowledgement of his peers, coaches and officials throughout the state and region. And it has earned him several sportsmanship awards at tournaments in his junior career. His sportsmanship shows through even under intense competition.
Sam is also an excellent player, having just won both singles and doubles titles in the K-Swiss Kiawah Island Junior Championships in the 18’s division. A top scholar at Academic Magnet High School, Sam is also an accomplished concert pianist.

Past Winners
2016 Gracie Waldron/Sam Kavarana
2015 Rebecca Spratt/Ashe Ray
2014 Elizabeth Truluck/Paul Hendrix

2013 Phillip Jordan/Emily Erickson
2012 Ben Horst/Olivia Lucas
2011 Jacob Behal/Morgan Chumney
2010 Sven Ivankovic/ Ashley Kitchen
2009 Ben Barnette/Molly O'Koniewski
2008 Wilson Daniel/Jessica Diamond
2007 Stephen Beach/Patricia Kirkland
2006 Zachary Sprouse/Catherine Roach
2005 Christopher Britt/ Amanda Malatek
2004 Christopher Loveless/ Virginia Waldron
2003 Tradd Robinson/ Tracey Cooke
2002 Moutray McLaren/ Symmes Johnson
2001 Scott Hartley/ Anne Carter Hughes
2000 Bennet Evers/ Annie Bosler
1999 John Boetsch/ Fallon Koon
1998 Bill Brehmer/ Candy Gore
1997 Will Johnson/ Jennifer Fayad
1995 Jeff Bergman/ Katie Coleman
1994 Ryan Lindsay
1993 Timothy Dargan
1992 Mary Avent
1991 Robert Martin
1990 Louise Maynard/ Heath Foster
1989 Beth Niemeyer
1988 Ashley Gaines
1987 Vernon Gettone
1996 Ashley Hawkins/ Matthew McKenzie
1985 Dave Garner
1984 Christy Faustmann