Instagram_round1   Facebook_Round1   Twitter_round1



Media Excellence Award

Journalist or media professional who makes an outstanding contribution to reporting or promoting tennis in South Carolina.

Mike Saia

As media coverage of tennis has steadily declined, and people’s lives have become too busy to read the paper every day, Mike Saia built in 2012 so tennis fans across the Lowcountry could easily find tennis news all in one place.

This no-cost, straight forward, ad-free tennis news aggregator plays a crucial role in the greater Charleston tennis community. Each year, Mike compiles more than 250 local tennis news articles, which requires significant time and dedication. He’s archived more than 20 years of local tennis news, going back to 1997, totaling more than 4000 news articles. If you want to know who won the Family Circle Cup in 2002 or which high school was tops in the state this year, is the place to find out. 


Past Winners
2018 Mike Saia
2017 The Post and Courier
2016 James Beck
2015 Derek Phillips
2014 Ann Green
2013 Peggy Edwards
2011 Nick Herman
2010 Mike Saia
2009 Sam McDowell
2008 Susan Wild
2007 Mark Lett
2006 Dennis Malick
2005 Vicki Needham
2004 Jim McLaurin
2003 James Beck
2002 Brad Bryant
2001 Ann Green
1999 Neal Peterson
1998 C.L. Brown
1997 Barry Sturmer
1996 Geoff Hart
1983 Josh Peter