Instagram_round1   Facebook_Round1   Twitter_round1



McNulty nominated to head USTA Southern, Spencer nominated to Executive Vice President

Atlanta - October 15, 2010 - USTA Southern announced today Mike McNulty, of Lake Charles, La., has been nominated USTA Southern Board of Directors President and CEO for the 2011-2012 term by the USTA Southern Nominating Committee. McNulty is presently the USTA Southern Board of Directors Executive Vice President.

USTA Southern Board of Directors Secretary James (Bud) Spencer, of Mt. Pleasant, S.C., was nominated to the post of Executive Vice President for the same term.

The nominations for the 2011-2012 term will be voted on at the 2011 USTA Southern Annual Meeting in Atlanta next January. Upon election, McNulty will head the largest of the USTA's 17 Sections, representing 25 percent of the national membership in nine states.

McNulty is currently Executive Vice President and a member of the USTA Constitution and Rules Committee. He has served as President of USTA Louisiana, USTA Southern Vice President and Delegate At Large, as well as Chairman of the USTA Southern Constitution and Rules Committee. Presented USTA Louisiana's President's Award, he was also named "One of the Best Lawyers in America." After his family was honored as the USTA Louisiana Family of the Year, they were given a similar award by USTA Southern - the Mickey McNulty Family of the Year Award - which was named for McNulty's father, a former sectional Vice President.

Spencer serves as USTA League Committee Vice Chairman. Spencer served as USTA South Carolina President and Chairman of the Board in 2004 and 2005. He has been a member of the USTA Southern Board of Directors since 2000 and has been active for over 15 years from the local to the national levels. He is a past Chairman of the South Carolina Tennis Patrons Foundation, a charitable association that supports the sport of tennis in the state.

USTA Southern Board of Directors President and CEO Rex Maynard was nominated for a term as USTA Delegate At Large. He has served as a volunteer at the local, state, sectional and national levels.  He is currently President of the Belton Tennis Association and has served as Tournament Director of the Wachovia Palmetto Championships (South Carolina's junior qualifying tournament held in Belton each June) since 1980. He was President of USTA South Carolina from 1994 to 1995. Maynard is a former Chairman and current Treasurer of the South Carolina Tennis Patrons Foundation. In 1982 he helped establish the South Carolina Tennis Hall of Fame and was inducted into the hall in 2001. He is a former recipient of the Lucy Garvin Volunteer of the Year Award, the state's highest volunteer honor.

Nominated for USTA Southern Vice Presidents were Paula Hale, of Winterville, N.C.; Randy Jackson, of Fort Smith, Ark., and Derek White, of Savannah, Ga.

Hale, who presently serves as USTA Southern Vice President, also serves as Chairman of the USTA National Community Tennis Association Committee and as a Trustee of the Southern Patrons Foundation. She is a past President of USTA North Carolina and the North Carolina Tennis Foundation and former chair of the USTA Southern State Presidents Committee.  She was honored in 2005 with USTA Southern's Jacobs Bowl Award.

Jackson serves as a USTA Southern Delegate At Large, a USTA Jr. Team Tennis Committee member and USTA Southern Jr. Team Tennis Committee Chairman. He has served as USTA Arkansas President, Southern State Presidents Group Chairman and on the USTA Southern Awards Subcommittee.

White currently serves as USTA Southern Vice President and as a member of the USTA Grievance Committee. White is a former President of the Macon Tennis Association and USTA Southern Delegate At Large. He has served as the Chairman of the USTA Southern Grievance Committee, a member of USTA Tennis Rules and Regulations and as USTA Southern's representative for the USTA Operations Council.

John Liles, of Shreveport, La., was nominated as USTA Southern Treasurer, a post he currently holds. He chairs the USTA Southern Finance and Budget Review Committee and was the chair of the Section's Adult/Senior Recreation Programs. A member of the USTA Awards Committee, Secretary/Treasurer of Southern Tennis Patron Foundation and Treasurer of the Northwest Louisiana Community Tennis Association, Liles is also certified as a Sectional referee.

Andy Andrews, of Raleigh, N.C., was nominated as Secretary. He serves as a Delegate At Large. For the last four years, he has served as USTA Southern Marketing Committee Chairman. He also serves as a member of the USTA Collegiate Varsity Committee.

Nominated for the post of USTA Southern Delegate At Large were Bob Goodsell, of Unicoi, Tenn.; Pat Guerry, of Marietta, Ga.; Eleanora Mauritson, of Fairhope, Ala., and Bonnie Vandegrift, of Asheville, N.C.

Nominated to the USTA Southern Section Nominating Committee were Maynard (as chair); Sheila Evans, of Atlanta; Susan Habeeb, of Louisville, Ky., and Whit Rayner, of Madison, Miss.