Instagram_round1   Facebook_Round1   Twitter_round1



Players, volunteers and coaches from across the state to receive USTA SC Annual Awards

Players, volunteers and coaches from across the state to receive USTA SC Annual Awards

COLUMBIA, S.C. – October 12, 2017 – Tennis coaches, players and volunteers from all over the state will be honored for their tennis achievements later this year by the United States Tennis Association of South Carolina.

In all, 23 people and organizations will receive USTA South Carolina annual awards at the organization’s annual meeting on Hilton Head Island in December.

“It’s a privilege to recognize these award recipients at our annual meeting,” said Graham Cox, executive director of USTA South Carolina.

The 2017 USTA South Carolina annual award recipients:

USTA SC Annual Award


Adaptive Tennis Volunteer of the Year

Renee Lowry, Mount Pleasant

Adult Female Player of the Year

Brenda Carter, Charleston

Adult Male Player of the Year

Nicholas Lombardo, Aiken

Adult Tournament of the Year

The NSWTA Championships/Anne Geier Cup, Mount Pleasant

Coach of the Year

Todd Seagle, Chesnee

Community Service Award

Sarah Casteel, Greenville

Community Tennis Association of the Year

Lowcountry Youth Tennis Association, Charleston

Company of the Year

Spinnaker Resorts, Hilton Head Island

Jim Russell Junior Tournament of the Year

The Peanut Patch Junior Open, Florence

John Newcomb Pro of the Year

Anibal Braga, Greenville

Junior Team Tennis Volunteer of the Year

Steve Cohen, Charleston

Junior Boy Player of the Year

Marcus Ferreira, Hilton Head Island

Junior Girl Player of the Year

Allie Gretkowski, Mount Pleasant

Most Improved Junior Boy

Stanley Waters, Mount Pleasant

Kimberly Hampton Most Improved

Junior Girl of the Year

Carrington Hayes, Mount Pleasant

Helen Jeter League Volunteer of the Year

Ed Sprenger, Florence

Mark Hodgin Junior Sportsmanship Boy

Bryce Keim, Spartanburg

Mark Hodgin Junior Sportsmanship Girl

Suzette Smit, Tega Cay

Media Award

The Post and Courier, Charleston

Member Facility of the Year

Greenview Park Tennis Facility, Columbia

Pete Conklin Official of the Year

Margaret Dixon, Isle of Palms

Tennis Family of the Year

The Giannelli Family, Moncks Corner

Wilton McKinney Award

Lauren Joch, Irmo


More information on the annual meeting can be found here.


# # #


USTA South Carolina is the state branch of the United States Tennis Association and is one of nine states that comprise the USTA Southern Section. A not-for-profit organization with more than 22,000 members, USTA South Carolina offers a variety of tennis programs and services for all ages and abilities to “promote and develop the growth of tennis” across South Carolina. For more information, go to, visit our Facebook page,, follow us on Twitter, @ustasc, or follow us on Instagram, ustasouthcarolina.