Instagram_round1   Facebook_Round1   Twitter_round1



USTA South Carolina names 2015 annual award recipients

October 12, 2015 09:00 AM

COLUMBIA, S.C. – OCTOBER 13, 2015 – They represent the best of tennis in South Carolina, and now these tennis coaches, volunteers, organizations and players will be honored for their achievements.

USTA South Carolina is excited to announce the recipients of its 2015 annual awards. This year, more than 20 organizations and individuals from across the state will be awarded for all they've done to help tennis.

These recipients have done more for the sport than we can quantify,” said Graham Cox, executive director of USTA South Carolina, the state office of the U.S. Tennis Association. “We're honored to be able to celebrate their accomplishments and what they've achieved with tennis in 2015.”


Among this year's recipients is Rebecca Spratt, a freshman at Ashley Hall in Charleston.

Rebecca, 15, will receive the Mark Hodgin Junior Sportsmanship Girl Award, which annually goes to a girl who has demonstrated courteous and exemplary behavior on and off the tennis court.

From an early age, Rebecca said, she was taught the value of great sportsmanship by her parents, John and Linda.

Now when Rebecca plays tennis, for her school and on her own at USTA South Carolina tournaments, she rarely shouts or slams her racquet when she's struggling. Instead, to regain her focus, she'll quietly talk to herself or take deep breaths.

I just try to be very respectful,” Rebecca said. “You're not only representing yourself, you're also representing your family and your school and your coaches.”

Rebecca and the other award recipients will be formally celebrated at a reception on Dec. 5 during the USTA South Carolina Annual Meeting on Isle of Palms. For more information, including details about the award namesakes, click here.

USTA South Carolina Annual Award Recipient
Adaptive Tennis Volunteer of the Year Billy Wilson, Florence
Adult Female Player of the Year Diane Barker, Daniel Island
Adult Male Player of the Year Emile Rasheed, Greer
Adult Tournament of the Year Racquets for Recovery, Pine Forest Country Club, Summerville
Coach of the Year Kristin Fleming Arnold, Charleston
Community Tennis Association of the Year Tennis Association of Hilton Head Island
Community Service Award Spencer Brown, Spartanburg
Company of the Year Dunlop, Greenville
Jim Russell Junior Tournament of the Year Classically Carolina Junior Championships,
Camden Country Club
John Newcomb Pro of the Year Bryan Minton, Daniel Island
Junior Team Tennis Volunteer of the Year Dion Straub, St. George
Junior Boy Player of the Year Phillip Jordan, Spartanburg
Junior Girl Player of the Year Emma Navarro, Charleston
Most Improved Junior Boy Chambers Easterling, Spartanburg
Kimberly Hampton Most Improved Junior GIrl of the Year Sayda Hernandez, Hilton Head Island
Helen Jeter League Volunteer of the Year Kim Ozmon, Rock Hill
Mark Hodgin Junior Sportsmanship Boy Ashe Ray, Spartanburg
Mark Hodgin Junior Sportsmanship Girl Rebecca Spratt, Charleston
Media Award Derek Phillips, WACH Fox, Columbia
Member Facility of the Year Kroc Tennis Center, Greenville
Pete Conklin Official of the Year Beau Wise, Isle of Palms
State Volunteer Service Award Jack Mills, Aiken
Tennis Family of the Year Marshall Prince family, Columbia
Wilton McKinney Award Makenna Jones, Greenville