Instagram_round1   Facebook_Round1   Twitter_round1



Volunteers and coaches from across the state to receive USTA SC Annual Awards


Volunteers and coaches from across the state to receive USTA SC Annual Awards

Tennis coaches, players and volunteers from all over the state will be honored for their tennis achievements later this year by USTA South Carolina. In all, 24 people and organizations will receive USTA South Carolina annual awards at the organization’s annual meeting on Isle of Palms in December.

This year’s group of award recipients features a range of tennis accomplishments. One recipient has volunteered with the league program since 1978; another recipient has been a certified USTA Official for more than 20 years. 

“These award recipients showcase vast talent in the sport of tennis in South Carolina,” said Graham Cox, executive director of USTA South Carolina. “We are proud to celebrate their accomplishments and dedication to growing tennis throughout our state.”

The 2016 USTA South Carolina annual award recipients:

USTA SC Annual Award Recipient
Adaptive Tennis Volunteer of the Year Nanette Howerin, Blythewood
Adult Female Player of the Year Ann Hunt, Hilton Head Island
Adult Male Player of the Year Tom Meigs, Seneca
Adult Tournament of the Year The Holiday Classic
presented by Wally Burbage Allstate Agency, Daniel Island
Coach of the Year Sherry Adams, Greer
Community Service Award Carolina Rollin’ Rackets, Rock Hill
Community Tennis Association of the Year The Greater Greenville Youth Tennis Association, Greenville
Company of the Year The McLeod Hospital of Florence, Florence
Jim Russell Junior Tournament of the Year Florence Tennis Association Boys and Girls High School Tournaments, Florence
John Newcomb Pro of the Year Jonathan Barth, Kiawah Island
Junior Team Tennis Volunteer of the Year Wendy Kingsley, Camden
Junior Boy Player of the Year Jared Pratt, Daniel Island
Junior Girl Player of the Year Maggie Cubitt, Spartanburg
Most Improved Junior Boy Hale and Wyatt Emerson, Florence
Kimberly Hampton Most Improved
Junior Girl of the Year
Katherine Lyman, Daniel Island
Helen Jeter League Volunteer of the Year Patti McVey, Leesville
Mark Hodgin Junior Sportsmanship Boy Sam Kavarana, Mt. Pleasant
Mark Hodgin Junior Sportsmanship Girl  Gracie Waldron, Mountville
Media Award James Beck, Charleston 
Member Facility of the Year The Wexford Tennis Club, Hilton Head Island
Pete Conklin Official of the Year Lee Ward, Columbia
Tennis Family of the Year The Cori and Michael Smith family, Daniel Island
Wilton McKinney Award Oliver Crawford, Spartanburg

More information on the awards can be found here.