Instagram_round1   Facebook_Round1   Twitter_round1



SC Teams Capture Six Sectional Titles in Hilton Head

Three local teams won titles in the 2010 USTA Southern Super Seniors Section Championships Dec. 3-5 in Hilton Head Island, S.C.

Teams from the island won at the following levels: men’s 60s 4.0, women’s 70s 3.0 and women’s 70s 4.0. Local teams also were finalists in men’s 70s 3.0 and women’s 60s 4.5.

The 60s teams battled for the right to represent USTA Southern in the USTA League Super Seniors National Championships in Surprise, Ariz. April 14-17, 2011. There are no national championships for the 70s.

This is the first year in the championships’ history women 70s played at the 4.0 level and the men’s 70s 4.0 competed a 10-team competition. There were 71 teams entered in 60s (60 years and older) and 40 teams in the 70s (70 years and older) with about 925 players.

This year’s event drew the top teams from throughout the section’s nine states: Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. The teams – which represent various clubs, parks, recreational departments and organizations – have finished at the top of their local leagues and advanced through state tournaments.

Matches were played at five sites: Van Der Meer Shipyard Racquet Club (main site), Palmetto Dunes Racquet Club, Port Royal Racquet Club, Sea Pines Country Club and South Beach Racquet Club.
Champions and finalists are:





Men’s 60s 3.0

Hot Springs Valley, Ark.
Captain: Chuck Skarshaug

Bossier City, La.
Captain: Joe Thomas


Men’s 60s 3.5

Roswell, Ga. (A)
Captain: Jim Meidl

Roswell, Ga. (B)
Captain: Dave McAuley


Men’s 60s 4.0

Hilton Head Island, S.C.
Captain: Dave Partington
(Team Picture)

Memphis, Tenn.
Captain: Paul Fultz


Men’s 60s 4.5

Little Rock, Ark.
Captain: Steve Duffel

Louisville, Ky.
Captain: Tom Scovil

Decided in round robin

Men’s 70s 3.0

Columbia, S.C. (A)
Captain: Ed Griswold
(Team Picture)

Hilton Head Island, S.C. (B)
Captain: Robert Costantino
(Team Picture)

Decided in round robin

Men’s 70s 3.5

New Orleans, La.
Captain: Charlie Johnson

Jackson, Miss.
Captain: Clarence Foreman


Men’s 70s 4.0

Charlotte, N.C.
Captain: Klaus Sabert

Fairhope, Ala.
Captain: Perry Thomas


Women’s 60s 3.0

Murfreesboro, Tenn.
Captain: Sandy Lovett

Sun City, S.C.
Captain: Rudy Murray
(Team Picture)


Women’s 60s 3.5

Lexington, S.C.
Captain: Becky Hipp
(Team Picture)

Charlotte, N.C.
Captain: Carol Guinn


Women’s 60s 4.0

Charlotte, N.C.
Captain: Marla Figard

Birmingham, Ala.
Captain: Becky Mitchell


Women’s 60s 4.5

Charleston, S.C. (A)
Captain: Ann Munday
(Team Picture)

Hilton Head Island, S.C. (B)
Captain: Julie Vaglienti
(Team Picture)


Women’s 70s 3.0

Hilton Head Island, S.C.
Captain: Mary Dempsey
(Team Picture)

Hot Springs Village, Ark.
Captain: Caroline Lefler

Decided in round robin

Women’s 70s 3.5

Wilmington, N.C.
Captain: Dorothy Maloney

Florence, S.C.
Captain: Fransue Bertols
(Team Picture)


Women’s 70s 4.0

Hilton Head Island, S.C.
Captain: Chris Iulo, Dottie Bass
(Team Picture)

Charleston, S.C.
Captain: Margo Heyd
(Team Picture)

Decided in round robin